The answer to the question above is “Yes.” But, the facts underlying this basic set of laws are more complicated than what that answer suggests.
Going over these laws and how they pertain to your child while speaking with a California juvenile criminal justice lawyer at the Law Office of Katie Walsh will allow you and your child to obtain the best possible legal outcome.
A Zero-Tolerance Policy For Underage Drunk Driving
The state of California has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drunk driving and any other related acts.
No matter what, if a juvenile is found to have a blood alcohol level of .01% will have their driver’s license suspended for a period of one year.
If a juvenile refuses a breathalyzer test or preliminary alcohol screening, then they, too, will be subject to a one-year driver’s license suspension.
Even though those consequences are the most common, this doesn’t mean that other consequences cannot be levied against a juvenile who violates the DUI/OUI laws that govern the state of California.
Other Consequences Can Be Levied Against A Juvenile Found Guilty Of A DUI/OUI
A juvenile who is found to have a blood alcohol level of .01% will have their license suspended for one year. But, if they are found to have a blood alcohol level that is higher than that, the consequences become far more significant.
Someone who is found to have a blood alcohol level of .05% – or, in turn, someone who has failed a preliminary alcohol screening or refused to take one – will have their license suspended for one year.
If this same juvenile has had previous infractions, though, or there were other circumstances present when they were pulled over, then they can be forced to pay a fine of no more than $300.
Outside of the above, if a juvenile is pulled over and found to have a blood alcohol level of .08% – or higher, for that matter – then they can be charged with a standard DUI. This is true regardless of the juvenile’s exact age.
A standard DUI in California comes with the following charges:
- A term of no more than six months in jail.
- A fee of no more than $1,000.
- A driver’s license suspension of up to one year.
If a juvenile is charged with a standard DUI, they may also need to install an Ignition Interlock Device and attend a DUI program.
DUI/OUI Charges Can Stack Up
Every single one of the above is its own unique charge. But, DUI/OUI charges can stack up, leading to further and far greater consequences than those outlined within a single charge.
Just as an example, if a juvenile has a blood alcohol level of .08%, then they can be convicted of a standard DUI, as well as the two other charges outlined earlier, pertaining to a .01% and/or .05% blood alcohol level.
One possible result of the above is having one’s license suspended for nearly three years. Or, for that matter, being forced to pay over $1,300.
Speak With An Orange County Juvenile Criminal Justice Lawyer
The state of California takes DUIs and OUIs very seriously, regardless of your age. Speak with an Orange County juvenile criminal justice lawyer at the Law Office of Katie Walsh, and we will defend your child from the DUI/OUI charges they are facing.